64 Middlesex Ave. | Reading, MA 01867 | 781-944-0840

Slackers Book Club

SlackersSlackers is a self service book club and open to all readers. Stop by each month and pick up a copy of the most recent selection. Upon completion of the book, complete and drop off a comment card, or post directly online from this page.

When: Whenever. Just help yourself to some good reading…no meetings to attend.

Where: Slackers titles are displayed each month on a shelf near the Bestsellers display area. If you are interested in sharing your opinions of the book, just fill out a Slackers’ bookmark comment form, and leave it in the book when you return it. OR you can submit your comments online, right here at the Slackers page. Just use the link at the end of the book description.

Who: For people who don’t want to be committed! Each month a new book is selected for the Slackers’ display.

(Return to “Book Groups” )



Slacker Titles

July 2017 Slacker Title: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Marie Laure lives with her father in Paris and is blind by age six. Her father builds her a model of their neighborhood, so she can memorize it and navigate the real streets. When the Germans occupy Paris, they flee to Saint-Malo on the coast. Continue Reading →

June 2017 Slacker Title: The Widow by Fiona Barton

There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment. Now she’s a widow, and there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want the truth. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything… For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train.

May 2017 Slacker Title: Books by author Brunonia Barry

Featuring the fiction of Brunonia Barry this month as we prepare for her upcoming visit.

Brunonia will be appearing at Reading Public Library on Wednesday, May 31 at 7:00 p.m.  She will discussing her new book, The Fifth Petal.  Best-selling author Barry returns to the world of The Lace Reader with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder…all set in historic Salem.

April 2017 Slacker Title: The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick

Sorting through her things on the one year anniversary of his wife Miriam’s death, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he’s never seen before. Continue Reading →

March 2017 Slacker Title: The Guest Room by Chris Bohjalian

From the New York Times bestselling author of Midwives comes the spellbinding tale of a party gone horribly wrong: two men lie dead in a suburban living room, two women are on the run from police, and a marriage is ripping apart at the seams.  This would be a great choice for book groups.

February 2017 Slacker Title: Under the Influence by Joyce Maynard

Drinking cost Helen her marriage and custody of her seven-year-old son, Ollie. Once an aspiring art photographer, she now makes ends meet taking portraits of school children and working for a caterer. Recovering from her addiction, she spends lonely evenings checking out profiles on an online dating site. Weekend visits with her son are awkward. He’s drifting away from her, fast. When she meets Ava and Swift Havilland, the vulnerable Helen is instantly enchanted. Wealthy, connected philanthropists, they have their own charity devoted to rescuing dogs. Their home is filled with fabulous friends, edgy art, and dazzling parties.  As Helen increasingly falls under the Havillands’ influence, Ava and Swift hold out the most seductive gift: their influence and help to regain custody of her son. But the debt Helen owes them is about to come due.

January 2017 Slacker Title: This is Your Life, Harriet Chance! by Jonathan Evison

With Bernard, her husband of fifty-five years, now in the grave, seventy-eight-year-old Harriet Chance impulsively sets sail on an ill-conceived Alaskan cruise that he had planned. But what she hoped would be a voyage leading to a new lease on life becomes a surprising journey into Harriet’s past.  Don’t be fooled by the jaunty cover…Jonathan Evison writes a bittersweet story of one woman’s lifetime of memories, and how each one contributed to the people she and her loved ones became.

December 2016 Slacker Title: Our Souls at Night by Kent Haruf

In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, home to all of Kent Haruf’s inimitable fiction, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis Waters to suggest that they spend time together…in bed.   A spare and inspiring story of a man and a woman who, in advanced age, come together to wrestle with the events of their lives and their hopes for the imminent future.

November 2016 Slacker Title: The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

Broken Wheel, Iowa, has never seen anyone like Sara, who traveled all the way from Sweden just to meet her pen pal, Amy. When she arrives, however, she finds that Amy’s funeral has just ended. Luckily, the townspeople are happy to look after their bewildered tourist. Marooned in a farm town that’s almost beyond repair, Sara starts a bookstore in honor of her friend’s memory. All she wants is to share the books she loves with the citizens of Broken Wheel and to convince them that reading is one of the great joys of life. But she makes some unconventional choices that could force a lot of secrets into the open and change things for everyone in town. Reminiscent of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a warm, witty book about friendship, stories, and love.