Search for books by topic, title or author:

Categories

Main menu:

Books categorized as 'Humor'

The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck

lost treasure of tuckernuck coverThe Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck by Emily Fairlie
Recommended for: Grades 4-6

Marie Tutweiler, founder of Tuckernuck Hall, issued a treasure hunt challenge to her students. This was 80 years before Laurie’s parents insisted that she attend the school as they had. Laurie wants nothing to do with the Tuckernuck Cluckers and their embarrassing chicken hats. Disappointed in her classroom assignment as Gerbil Monitor, she is partnered with Bud Wallace, a smart but unpopular student. By complete chance, they find a clue to the Treasure. Both afraid that the other might claim the treasure for their own, they agree to work together. All the clues they unearth are difficult, and to avoid suspicion, Bud and Laurie each end up in extra-curricular activities they never would have chosen on their own.
Hilarious situations abound as Laurie & Bud race to find the “treasure beyond bounds!” before the school is forced to shut down to make way for a new development.
Lots of humor and action make this a fun read.

Reviewed by: Mrs. McIntire

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none


The Secret Chicken Society

secret chicken society cover imageThe Secret Chicken Society by Judy Cox
Recommended for: Grades 1 – 3

So far Daniel has collected a rat, a tank full of guppies, a gerbil and a parakeet.  It’s all good practice for his future career as a veterinarian.  When the teacher announces that they will be hatching eggs in the classroom he sets his sights on a chicken as well.  Find out what happens when you mix “Eco-Dad”, four kids, five chickens and an unlikely set of neighbors in this fast-paced story.  You just might learn a little something about chickens while you’re at it.

Reviewed by: Mrs. White

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: 1


Happy Birthday Bad Kitty

Happy Birthday Bad Kitty by Nick Buel
Recommended for: Grades 2 to 4

Happy Birthday Bad KittyAuthor Nick Bruel introduced Bad Kitty in a funny, alphabet picture book by the same name. He then expanded Kitty’s adventures in hilarious companion chapter books. In this book, hard-to-please Kitty is woken up by the never-seen narrator with the joyous news that  “Today is your birthday!!!” Despite the fabulous array of foods (listed in alphabetical order) and the zany assortment of presents from Kitty’s pals, all does not go well. Minimal text complimented by  large and lively graphic art empower young readers, who will surely want to explore other books about Bad Kitty.

Reviewed by: Ms. Wettergreen

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: 1


The Trouble With Chickens

the trouble with chickensThe Trouble With Chickens by Doreen Cronin
Recommended for: Grades 2 – 4

Retired search and rescue dog J.J. Tully is called to action when the barnyard’s Chicken Mom reports 2 of her little chicks MISSING! Offered a cheeseburger as reward, he accepts the job. Sprinkled with unusual names (Vince the Funnel), fancy vocabulary (rendezvous), fabulous illustrations  by Kevin Cornell, and changing narrators, this playful mystery provides suspense and fun for young readers.

Reviewed by: Ms. Wettergreen

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none


The Yggyssey

the yggyssey coverThe Yggyssey by Daniel Pinkwater
Recommended for grades 5-7

Yggdrassil (Iggy) Birnbaum lives in a haunted hotel in Hollywood, California.  Iggy and her friends travel to a city on another plane to find out why all the ghosts are disappearing from Hollywood. The story takes place in the fifties and is filled with fantastic locations and zany characters (ghosts included).  Sequel to The Neddiad

Reviewed by: Mrs. McIntire

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none


Cold Cereal

Cold cereal coverCold Cereal by Adam Rex
Recommended for: Grades 4-6

Warning: this book is seriously bizarre.  But it’s also a lot of fun!  And a bit hard to explain…
It’s about cereal, but also about some strange twins, a giant that lives in a tree, some mythological characters being stolen from their world, an evil plot, family, and friendship.
This book made me laugh, grabbed my attention, and had me rooting for the hero.  If you like funny adventures with a touch of fantasy, check this book out.

Reviewed by: Mrs. Waring

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none


Hamster and Cheese

hamster and cheese cover image Hamster and Cheese by Colleen A.F. Venable and Stephanie Yue
Recommended for: Grades 2-5

First in the Guinea PIg, Pet Shop Private Eye series, Hamster and Cheese tells the story of a reluctant detective and her irrepressible (and self-appointed) sidekick who are on a quest for a missing sandwich. Funny characters (including Mr. Venezi, the befuddled pet shop owner) and detailed drawings make this a great read. Includes fun facts about animals at the end of each story.

Reviewed by: Ms. GS

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none


The Kneebone Boy

kneebone boy cover image The Kneebone Boy by Ellen Potter
Recommended for: Grades 4 and up

The Hardscrabble children are not magic, but they are not normal, either. When they find themselves unexpectedly on their own, they seize the occasion to have an adventure. They face danger together, and find the answers to some questions they didn’t realize they had.
Told by one of the three siblings, the story is full of twists and unexpected revelations. The relationships of the children are realistically described, believable and charming. Recommended for readers who enjoy Lemony Snicket or Jenny Nimmo’s Charlie Bone series.

Reviewed by: Ms. GS

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none


My Life As A Book

My Life As A Book by Janet Tashjian
Recommended for: Grades 6 and up

All Derek wants is to spend the summer lounging around with his dog and launching avocado grenades at his best friend.  It looks like what he’ll get is a lot of assigned reading and some enforced play dates with the class goody-two-shoes, but things get lively when he finds an old newspaper article in the attic.  This book has just the right combination of intrigue, silly antics and hilarious stick figure doodles.  A perfect summer read.

Reviewed by: Mrs. White

 

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none


Giants Beware!

Giants Beware coverGiants Beware! by Jorge Aguirre and Rafael Rosado
Recommended for: Grades 2-5

Claudette longs to be a fierce giant-slayer, like her father.  Her brother Gaston longs to be a pastry chef, and their best friend Marie dreams of becoming a princess.  Her brother and friend don’t think they are brave, but they are proved wrong when Claudette tricks them into coming with her on a quest to slay the fabled baby-feet-eating giant who lives in a nearby mountain range.  This graphic novel is filled with funny, unique characters, fast-paced action, and gorgeous full-color illustrations.

Reviewed by: Mrs. Waring

What do YOU think? Please leave a comment.
Number of comments: none